1. Home
  2. /

  3. /

    India pacer dropped from 3rd Test squad: BCCI reveals reason
India pacer dropped from 3rd Test squad: BCCI reveals reason
Mukesh Kumar via cricketaddictor.com

India pacer dropped from 3rd Test squad: BCCI reveals reason

Mukesh Kumar, the fast bowler of the Indian cricket team, has been released from the squad for the third Test match against England in Rajkot.

India fast bowler Mukesh Kumar has been dropped from the squad for the third Test against England in Rajkot. Mohammed Siraj will replace him in the playing XI. Mukesh will now join the Bengal side for their next Ranji Trophy fixture. The BCCI announced the reason for his release on social media.  The BCCI wrote on X (formerly known as Twitter) that he will join his Ranji Trophy team, Bengal, for their next fixture before linking up with Team India in Ranchi.

India won the toss and elected to bat first against England in the third Test of the five-match series at the Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Rajkot on Thursday.

Players such as Sarfaraz Khan and Dhruv Jurel were presented with their Test caps ahead of the third Test.

England captain Ben Stokes is set to play his 100th Test match. Meanwhile, India's star spinner Ravichandran Ashwin is likely to take his 500th Test wicket. Meanwhile, James Anderson is chasing 700 wickets.

The series is currently level at 1-1. After losing the first Test in Hyderabad by 28 runs, India won the second Test in Visakhapatnam by 106 runs.

After winning the toss, India captain Rohit said that Axar Patel and Mukesh Kumar would miss the third Test. He also confirmed that Mohammed Siraj and Ravindra Jadeja will play in the Rajkot Test.

The England captain said Mark Wood would replace Shoaib Bashir in the visitors' squad.

England XI: Zak Crawley, Ben Duckett, Ollie Pope, Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes, Ben Foakes, Rehan Ahmed, Tom Hartley, Mark Wood, James Anderson.

India XI: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Rajat Patidar, Sarfaraz Khan, Ravindra Jadeja, Dhruv Jurel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj.



Get the latest news to your inbox.

Subscribe to the newsletter

We value your privacy and promise not to distribute your email to third parties.