1. Home
  2. /

  3. /

    Preview, fixtures, schedule, teams of IPL 2024
Preview, fixtures, schedule, teams of IPL 2024
England white-ball captain Jos Buttler (batting) will be playing in his ninth successive IPL. BCCI/IPL

Preview, fixtures, schedule, teams of IPL 2024

The Indian Premier League - the world's premier T20 franchise tournament - kicks off its 17th edition on Friday.

As usual, there's plenty of star-studded line-ups, but some big English names are also missing out.

This is all you need to know.

What is the start date for IPL 2024?

The action kicks off on Friday, March 22, when defending champions Chennai Super Kings take on Royal Challengers Bangalore starting at 14:30 GMT.

In the opening match, we could see MS Dhoni against Virat Kohli. Box office.

What is the schedule for the IPL 2024 & when is the final?

India's Lok Sabha elections are due to take place between April 19 and June 1, with the full schedule yet to be announced.

Matches for the first two weeks have been announced. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has stated that the remaining matches will be revealed in due course.

The date of the final is not yet known, but it is likely to be the last weekend in May.

What does the IPL 2024 look like?

Group AGroup B
Mumbai IndiansChennai Super Kings
Kolkata Knight RidersSunrisers Hyderabad
Rajasthan RoyalsGujarat Titans
Delhi CapitalsRoyal Challengers Bangalore
Lucknow Super GiantsPunjab Kings

Teams are divided into two groups of five and play 14 group matches each. They play each team from the same group once and the other group twice, home and away. The results form a table.

The play-offs begin with the first and second from the group stage playing for a place in the final.

Third and fourth then play each other, with the loser eliminated. The winner of this match will play the loser of the first play-off for the second final place.

Any new rules?

Two bouncers per over are now permitted instead of one.

Teams will continue to name their players after the toss. This will include five substitutes. The 'impact player' rule, which allows one of those substitutes to be used, has been retained. The incoming player must be Indian unless the team has not used their four overseas players.

Wide and no-ball calls remain reviewable.

Which England players will be playing in the 2024 IPL?

Thirteen English players have been signed to teams, including Somerset wicketkeeper Tom Kohler-Cadmore and Surrey all-rounder Will Jacks, who may play this year after being unused last year.

Lancashire left-arm seamer Luke Wood also makes his first appearance. He has joined Mumbai Indians as an injury replacement for Australia's Jason Behrendorff.

There are also a number of absentees.

Batter Harry Brook has withdrawn from the team due to the passing of his grandmother, while bowlers Mark Wood and Gus Atkinson, as well as batter Jason Roy, have chosen to opt-out in order to manage their workload.

Test captain Ben Stokes and batter Joe Root decided not to participate in the auction for the same reasons.

England cricketers participating in IPL 2024

Chennai Super Kings

Moeen Ali

Kolkata Knight Riders

Phil Salt

Lucknow Super Giants

David Willey

Mumbai Indians

Luke Wood

Punjab Kings

Jonny Bairstow, Liam Livingstone, Sam Curran & Chris Woakes

Rajasthan Royals

Jos Buttler & Tom Kohler-Cadmore

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Will Jacks, Reece Topley & Tom Curran

Are there any other changes or stories?

One significant change is the return of Gujarat skipper Hardik Pandya to Mumbai Indians, where he has taken over the captaincy from Rohit Sharma.

Australian left-arm seamer Mitchell Starc has joined Kolkata Knight Riders for a record £2.3 million, while his international teammate Pat Cummins has been appointed captain of Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Furthermore, India's wicketkeeper Rishabh Pant is expected to play for the first time since a car accident in December 2022 and may even captain the Capitals.

After impressive performances in last year's 50-over World Cup, New Zealand all-rounder Rachin Ravindra, who played for Chennai Super Kings, and Sri Lanka seamer Dilshan Madushanka, who played for Mumbai Indians, will both make their debuts this season.

Mumbai and Chennai, both five-time champions, will be competing for a record sixth title.

Get the latest news to your inbox.

Subscribe to the newsletter

We value your privacy and promise not to distribute your email to third parties.